top of page

Sorry that I left...


The title of this post is slightly deceiving because I actually left the UK, NOT the internet. For the next year, I’ll be studying aboard in Singapore and ALSO, doing what I know best...travelling!

Pre-departure:

Sometimes risks need to be taken especially when opportunities like this arise. When we don’t believe in our self, having others around that do always helps.As August got closer, I was trying to prepare myself for what was to come and fighting the nerves surrounding leaving. I don’t think it actually quite hit me until my flight landed that I was moving half way across the world. I think some of the hardest goodbyes I've ever had to say all came in the last week which really had me reconsidering this decision. However, now that I'm here I think I’m ready for the challenge and to gain more personal perspective.

Two weeks in:

After arriving the first couple of days felt like I was on holiday, because I was in an unfamiliar place and just exploring the beautiful city. The transport services here are a traveller dream because trains and buses is so frequent and easy to navigate, and people are really helpful. This is really ideal as during the beginning everything is so overwhelming, especially when travelling alone can have you so on edge. Many of us are not used to travelling alone, which roots from the fear of being lonely; but its that first meal alone or the first solo sight seeing trip that you realise that its not actually that bad. You can do whatever and go wherever you want because there is no one else to answer to.

The initial taste of culture I’ve had was through the food. On my first night, I went to a ‘hawker centre’ (food courts) where so many different cuisines are available for you to try at affordable prices. This is a great way to indulge into a new culture because food really connects people, especially me! I think the best thing I have been introduced to is Chicken Rice, which is a popular local dish. It looks and sounds really simple, but the flavours are just amazing. Also, my blood is now 50% Lime Juice, which is nothing like any other drink I’ve ever tried so if you ever come this way make sure you try these two things!

The HUMIDITY! Remember that episode of 'Friends' where Monica’s hair expands due to the humidity? Yeah, that’s me now for the next year. It so warm here that my jeans and hoodies have been pushed to the back of the wardrobe and wearing makeup is no longer a thing; sweat is my new accessory (attractive, I know.). Fashion in Singapore is far from 'edgy Leeds' and more towards whatever can keep you as cool as possible.

One of my biggest worries was that I wouldn’t make friends, which seems silly now because I guess everyone’s in the same boat. Already I’ve made many friends from around the globe; who mostly tease me about my British accent and get me to say words like ‘tomato’ because I pronounce them differently (I guess it’s a good ice breaker). I’m really loving learning about so many different cultures; both from friends and also the lifestyle here.

University here has similarities and differences compared to back home. Firstly, I’ve never had a roommate before, but that’s cool because it’s a good way to have a buddy and someone there when you feel alone. Also, the structure of university isn’t as chill as back home however in terms of work load there is soooo much already. As an exchange student, it's really opening my eyes to a new kind of independence where I have to become my own best friend first and trust myself. Coming to this university has aided me in keeping a routine, because it's familiar to what I know back home. BUT, let me remind you that studying in the heat is not fun and for someone who gets cold really easily, the AC is no fun either.

I'm really excited to see where this journey takes me and I'll keep you posted on whatever is yet to come. It’s all been pretty crazy, a year abroad was a distant dream but here I am.

Love Arzu x

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Holiday Without Photographs.

Sometimes it's about keeping candid moments candid, and not trying to capture them in photographs.

bottom of page