top of page

A Balinese Detox


Since going to Bali, I understand the island's power to 'change souls' during a 'gap year'. I have now found myself. Just kidding! However, Bali (the not so hidden gem) does have gravitational energy that pulls you back to it. It's either that or I just want to go back. This time last week, I was exploring the town of Ubud, which is known for its art markets, Kecak dance and beautiful structures. Ubud is a to go destination for some downtime and to process life. Which seems ironic because the streets are always bustling from dawn to sunset, but even that had a calmness about it. I travelled with Malvika and Jess, both who are also studying at NTU. We stayed at Greenview Backpackers Hostel, which was an homely and relaxed stay. This was also an ideal location as there was lots to see within walking distance and central for day trips out of Ubud. I checked off a few more things that were on my bucket list, such as snorkelling, climbing an active volcano and swimming in a waterfall. Despite Bali becoming tourist central over the years, the locals were all so welcoming and friendly. They wanted to know about us as much as we wanted to know about them. Past the 'instagram perfect' Bali, there is so much rich culture and history that still holds a lot of value to the Balinese people. I guess that is what keeps it feeling like home amongst all the travellers. Here are some snippets our short getaway.

Love Arzu x

DISCLAIMER: Non of this is sponsored, even though I wish it was.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Holiday Without Photographs.

Sometimes it's about keeping candid moments candid, and not trying to capture them in photographs.

bottom of page